With today’s launch, you can now make the albums you send collaborative. People receiving the shared album can join to add their own photos and videos, and also get notifications when new pics are added. You can even save photos and videos from a shared album to your Google Photos library, so that you can hold onto them even if you weren’t the one holding the camera.
What's New In This Version:
Introducing shared albums – a new, easy way to pool photos and videos with whomever you want, across any smartphone, tablet, or computer. Just select photos, tap the Share icon, and select Shared Album. People you share the link with can add photos to the album and get notified when new moments are added, no matter what device they’re on.
There’s also a new way to free up space on your device – without losing a photo. Just navigate to Settings and tap “Free up space.” Photos that are safely backed up will be removed from your device’s storage, but will still be available in Google Photos. Yes, you can finally stop worrying about running out of space on your phone.
Also in this update:
• Chromecast support: Cast your photos and videos to your TV, even if they haven't been backed up yet. And don’t worry – when you’re casting, people will only see the photos you tap on.
• Improved photo backup: Backing up your photos and videos is more reliable and up to 4x faster.
• When selecting photos, you can now pinch to zoom in and out.
• Performance improvements.
You can download Google Photos from the App Store for free.