Adoption of OS X Yosemite Preview is 4X Greater Than OS X Mavericks Preview [Chart]

Adoption of OS X Yosemite Preview is 4X Greater Than OS X Mavericks Preview [Chart]

Posted by · 13228 views · Translate
Adoption of the OS X Yosemite Developer Preview is four times higher than the adoption of the OS X Mavericks Developer Preview was, reports Chitika.

To determine adoption levels, Chitika Insights sampled hundreds of millions of North American OS X online ad impressions. They looked at data from June 2 and July 2, 2014 for Yosemite and June 10 and Jul 10, 2013 for Mavericks. The data points were plotted on a three-day rolling average.

In the three days following the release of the first OS X Yosemite Developer Preview, adoption jumped significantly – hitting 0.15% of total U.S. and Canadian Mac OS X Web traffic. That figure is particularly impressive considering that adoption of the OS X Mavericks Developer Preview achieved only a 0.05% share after 30 days. The increased level of aggregate activity for Yosemite is likely partially driven by the prominent changes present in this OS version fueling a higher degree of developer curiosity and experimentation. The changes to Safari in particular may be prompting a greater amount of Web usage from current users in terms of testing and customization.

Chitika expects Yosemite's usage to grow in the short term due to the release of the third Developer Preview on July 7, 2014. Once it's released Yosemite will likely outpace the adoption of any previous Mac desktop operating system.

Read More


Adoption of OS X Yosemite Preview is 4X Greater Than OS X Mavericks Preview [Chart]

Adoption of OS X Yosemite Preview is 4X Greater Than OS X Mavericks Preview [Chart]
FreeBSD124 - July 10, 2014 at 1:20pm
I didn't upgrade to 10.9.3 and/or 10.9.4 since that kills for some reason the use of my magic trackpad on my 27" iMac With 10.9.2 it take a 3 finger swipe to change desktop whereas with the upgrades that changed to a 4 finger swipe. The menu with a 2 finger tap shows up as new, info, change desktop background view and show view options, whereas with the upgrades thats reduced to just new folder and info
Za - July 10, 2014 at 12:12pm
My opinion, Mavericks ruined my Mini performance. Absolutely horrible. And it's 1 year old. It really was like a Windows upgrade.
lepaka - July 10, 2014 at 7:14am
Yosemite is just the Maverics part 2, it is what they where not able to include in time on Maverics and close the iOS and OSX integration. there is not so much to say about it, once they are give it for free, it is just an update. what i am suprised is that there is still a lot of old fellows on Lion and Mountain Lion. the Snow Leopard has some justifications, I keep myself a small 30GB partitition, just to play some old f** good games, which stop running after 10.7, I believe some applications also did not migrate or it is very expensive to migrate their data for new OSX.
lepaka - July 10, 2014 at 7:19am
by the way, I stopped by the 10.9.2 in my MacMini, which is connected via HDMI to my TV and Apple did sh** on the 10.9.3 and 4, which kills the HDMI connection from normal modern HD TVs and Monitors. they have mess-up with the output drivers which now are not able to transmit the signal automatically :(
BillJobs - July 10, 2014 at 3:56am
All Hail Microsoft Windows 8.1
5 More Comments
Recent