June 17, 2024
Mozilla Announces Firefox OS Developer Preview Phone

Mozilla Announces Firefox OS Developer Preview Phone

Posted January 22, 2013 at 2:01pm by iClarified
Mozilla has announced a developer preview phone for their new Firefox OS mobile operating system.

Firefox OS is a new mobile operating system built entirely using open web standards. In Firefox OS, HTML5 apps can do “phone things” – they can make the phone vibrate, make a phone call or send a text message.

This week we are announcing our new Firefox OS developer preview phones because we believe that developers will help bring the power of the web to mobile. These developer phones are being developed by Geeksphone in partnership with Telefonica and Geeksphone.



Features:
● CPU Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 1Ghz
● UMTS 2100/1900/900 (3G HSPA)
● GSM 850/900/1800/1900 (2G EDGE)
● Screen 3.5″ HVGA Multitouch
● 3 MP Camera
● 4GB ROM, 512 MB RAM
● MicroSD, Wifi N, Light and proxmity Sensor, G-Sensor, GPS, MicroUSB
● 1580 mAh battery
● Over the air updates
● Unlocked, add your own SIM card

Developers will be able to purchase the phone form Geeksphone soon for 'price you could never have imagined'.

Read More


Mozilla Announces Firefox OS Developer Preview Phone


Add Comment
Would you like to be notified when someone replies or adds a new comment?
Yes (All Threads)
Yes (This Thread Only)
No
iClarified Icon
Notifications
Would you like to be notified when we post a new Apple news article or tutorial?
Yes
No
Comments (8)
You must login or register to add a comment...
ipadguy
ipadguy - January 23, 2013 at 7:00am
This is a low $ phone unlocked n that's really nice for a lot of people but it is not some new hard core phone, what u get that's big is its unlocked from the start no need to pay for that or get techie
BrawlBro1
BrawlBro1 - January 22, 2013 at 7:20pm
So... Android and iOS had sex? Now we know what a hybrid would look like.
Anonymous
Anonymous - January 23, 2013 at 4:20pm
Lol you made my day
ju bei
ju bei - January 22, 2013 at 6:20pm
it can do “phone things” – they can make the phone vibrate, make a phone call or send a text message.....so its not a smart phone? just a banana phone with a touch screen
6italia0
6italia0 - January 22, 2013 at 3:27pm
Ok at first I thought this was talking about a new app for iPhone from looking at the pic, but instead its just a dead on iPhone 4 copy with an orange bezel, hmm maybe apple just goes after companies that are just more outspoken about copyright infringement like Samsung, but I guess Firefox w/iPhone 4 copy and nextbook with exact iPad 2 copy (just no home button lol) aren't targeted because they just don't say shit about it (maybe samsung should take note of this lol)
Me
Me - January 22, 2013 at 7:21pm
What makes you think it's an iPhone copy?
Ken
Ken - January 22, 2013 at 2:11pm
I couldn't imagine it being $1...
AbsolutoCaos
AbsolutoCaos - January 22, 2013 at 5:25pm
Not $1 (~€0.76) but maybe €50 (~$66.50), that price i could not imagine on a 4.3" ips, dual 1.2, 8mp, open format handset. Lol Apple? can't even recall apple seeing those 2 phones...
Recent. Read the latest Apple News.
RECENT
Tutorials. Help is here.
TUTORIALS
Where to Download macOS Monterey
Where to Download macOS Ventura
AppleTV Firmware Download Locations
Where To Download iPad Firmware Files From
Where To Download iPhone Firmware Files From
Deals. Save on Apple devices and accessories.
DEALS