September 27, 2022
iPhone Dev-Team Warns Against Updating to iOS 4.1

iPhone Dev-Team Warns Against Updating to iOS 4.1

Posted September 8, 2010 at 9:50am by iClarified · 33711 views
SlovakSpanishVietnamese
The iPhone Dev-Team has issued a warning to remind users not to update to the new iOS 4.1 firmware that is expected today.

Today you’ll likely start seeing iTunes innocently offer you a new version of iOS…version 4.1. Don’t accept it…it’s a trap!

This time of year there are lots of new iPhone owners, and not everybody knows that accepting new iOS updates is the surest way to lose your jailbreak and/or unlock. While those of you who have Cydia or TinyUmbrella backups of your FW hashes will always be able to get back to 4.0.1 if you make this mistake, this doesn’t hold for unlockers. There’s currently no known way to revert your baseband — if you update your baseband you’ll lose the ultrasn0w unlock, possible forever.


Read More


iPhone Dev-Team Warns Against Updating to iOS 4.1
Add Comment
Would you like to be notified when someone replies or adds a new comment?
Yes (All Threads)
Yes (This Thread Only)
No
iClarified Icon
Notifications
Would you like to be notified when we post a new Apple news article or tutorial?
Yes
No
You must login or register to add a comment...
Joe
Joe - September 8, 2010 at 4:54pm
Jailbroken iPhone 4, I know not to update to 4.1, what about updating to iTunes 10? Thank you!
Jay
Jay - September 8, 2010 at 3:28pm
it's been awhile since i've posted. no question, but a comment rather: ya know what, maybe a question. for those that have 3G and 3GS, is do you guys see any differeces in the upgrading? i have a 4 so i'm content w/ 4.0, although, i want that HDR feature. i'll wait for a 4.1, but i just don't see why people would update this if they want a jauilbreak/unlock.
Brizzle
Brizzle - September 8, 2010 at 1:12pm
4.1 is live now! Go get it if ya want it folks
Adam
Adam - September 8, 2010 at 11:28am
I made the mistake of updating to 3.1.3 when there was no jailbreak out, i waited months for it and gladly the Dev team jailbroke it and when 4.0 / 4.0.1 was jailbroken i did upgrade. I will no be making the same mistake cheers, i cannot wait for the posts tofill up, my turn to laught :).
David
David - September 8, 2010 at 10:50am
This is the standard warning before *every* new firmware update. Unfortunately, the Dev Team needs to keep doing this because people have short memories. Even with the warnings, there will be thousands of panic-laden posts asking what to do after the dog accidentally hit the update button, along with the various confirmation buttons.
13 More Comments
Recent. Read the latest Apple News.
RECENT
Tutorials. Help is here.
TUTORIALS
How to Remove Search Button From Home Screen on iPhone [Video]
How to Turn On iPhone Keyboard Haptic Feedback [Video]
How to Turn Off Always On Display on iPhone 14 Pro [Video]
AppleTV Firmware Download Locations
Where To Download iPhone Firmware Files From
Deals. Save on Apple devices and accessories.
DEALS