Buddy Beacon uses the GPS in your phone to pinpoint your location. You can let your friends know what you're doing at that location (i.e. working, eating, sleeping, etc.) or you can pick a place that's close to you to set as your location. You can also view your location on a map to see where your friends are in relation to you or view your Buddy List to check the location of a specific friend. By blocking your friends, they won't be able to see your location until you unblock them.